How to Become a Fashion Designer

Welcome to FindFashion Rep! Forums Fashion How to Become a Fashion Designer

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Cedric Liem
      Keymaster

If you know me, I’m not a fashion designer and I don’t have a background in fashion at all.

But, I can do research. And reading this post, you will get info from someone who isn’t influenced or biased in this area.

I did my MBA and took many investment courses outside of school. I’m in my late 40’s now and I can honestly say, I learned the most valuable information from the internet, during this pandemic, than I did from any of my traditional school or certifications.

In fact, now, I don’t even care whether my daughter goes to university. I think it’s a huge waste of money and time. You can learn what you need to learn at a fraction of the cost and time from the right people with online courses. I think if you learned online for 4 years like you did in university and paid as much for courses, you can get the most important information in your life and you’ll have the groundwork for a lifetime of wealth.

But, I wouldn’t pay that much like I did for university, that’s crazy. At the same time, you can also lose a lot of money from online course scammers. So, you do have to be careful.

In any case, let’s get started with the article.

I searched YouTube for videos on how to become a fashion designer.

One of the videos that I really liked was by Zoe Hong. She mentions 3 ways to become one:

1. Graduate from college
      2. Start a business
      3. Freelance

Can you become a fashion designer from watching her videos? (Not just this one I’m listing)

Probably.

And based on people’s comments on her video, you’ll learn more than from school!

Subjects You Need to Know (not in order of importance):

1. Design
      2. Color
      3. Fabric (based on the way she talks about this, this is highly important)
      4. Sustainability
      5. Drawing and Illustration